Niger, Mali and Burkina Faso intend to create a confederation

Three West African states – Niger, Mali and Burkina Faso – intend to unite into a confederation. About it reported the foreign ministers of the three countries following the meeting, but at which they agreed on the text of the treaty. Now the agreement must be approved by the heads of state.

The confederation will be called the “Alliance of Sahel States” (the Sahel is a region in western Africa south of the Sahara, but north of the equator, which includes Burkina Faso, Mauritania, Mali, Niger and Chad). Negotiations about its creation have been ongoing since last year.

All three countries are now ruled by military juntas that came to power through armed coups. After the coups, Mali, Niger and Burkina Faso withdrew from the regional Ecowas alliance. They broke a number of agreements with France, whose colonies they were until the second half of the twentieth century and on which they continued to largely depend in the sphere of economics and security.

Experts considerthat the severance of key Sahel states’ ties with the US and France, as well as the lifting of controls on military spending, were a precondition for a military cooperation agreement with Russia. The Sahel countries sympathize with the Kremlin. They housed mercenaries from the Wagner PMC for many years. Russian military presence continues there and now.

The situation in all three countries is unstable, and there are conflicts between the army and opposing armed groups. Numerous war crimes, including against civilians, have been reported. Despite rich natural resources, all three countries are among the poorest in the world.

  • For more: Elrisala website and for social follow us on Facebook
  • Source of information and images “svoboda

Related Articles

Back to top button